Do i need a SLI Bridge or not?!

Terrible_Ted

Honorable
Dec 30, 2013
Basically i have SLI'd 2 x 260 GTX, "(Thats all i can afford)" :/
anyway I have placed them both in my PC and was told i might not need an SLI bridge, so i went and installed them but only one is showing, I removed the standard 1.8.1.0 driver for nvidia, and reinstalled hoping it would install both at once? Sorry i'm not too good with this sort of stuff, and a Tad little confused, i just want them both working, pleaseeeee could someone help me?! would be greatly appreciated!! :)

Thank you everyone!

wehler53

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2013
What sli does is it allows 2 GPU's to function as one. Where they both take the load of calculating and generating images basically if you have 2 GPU's then run it in sli, if you don't you'll basically have 2 separate GPU's

If I'm wrong please correct me

Terrible_Ted

Honorable
Dec 30, 2013
No, mate i won't Correct you haha! you are right, but i don't have an SLI bridge, so technically it should show i have 2 graphics cards and am Running 2 GPU's yet they are the same cards, and i didn't know if there is a driver involved somewhere down the line or will it only run the one, do i have to have an SLI bridge to have them both working? or so on,

See because i don't know if they should both be showing up yet showing 2 different GPU's as i'm using MSI after burner, because on my girlfriend's laptop it shows both of her GPU's so I'm a little confused. any ideas on anything that i am trying to say? if not tell me I'm talking junk lmao!

wehler53

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2013