Do I need both fans on dual fan HD 6950?

G

Hi all,

Been lurking here for a bit and I need the insight of the community on an issue I have.

I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB Dirt 3 Edition.

One of the fan blades is broken off. It vibrates like crazy and as I understand it will wreck the bushing/bearing due to imbalance.

I have a few questions related to this.

1 - Do I absolutely need both fans? I have a CoolerMaster HAF 932 case so I have tons of airflow. I unplugged the one fan with the broken blade(required removing the heatsink/shroud, I did re-apply thermal paste & re-attached it all) and after a 10min Furmark burn in test my temps maxed out at 79C. I figure that's way more load than actual gaming will put it under, so I'm hoping that I might be OK with just the one fan. Am I incorrect in making that assumption?

2 - Should I try to glue the fan blade back on? I still have the piece. This seems like a bad idea to me as it might fly off while the thing is spinning like crazy.

3 - What do you think of modding/hacking on a similar sized fan? The Zalman ZM-OP1 is a slim profile 80mm and I'm considering taking the plastic shroud off the card and zip tie-ing one of those on as a replacement.

4 - Barring all of the above, can anyone recommend an aftermarket cooler that fits this card?

*EDIT

Thanks for the help.

How did you do that then ? :eek: