Question Do i need to upgrade cooling/fans when upgrading gaming PC ?

SHI KI

Honorable
May 18, 2017
I'm upgrading my very old gaming pc as it's starting to run a little slow, and im wondering how necessary it is to upgrade cooling/fans. The plan is to use the CPU cooler that comes with the processor, and the fan(s) that are already in the chassis. Like i said it's a very old pc so theres probably just some basic <Mod Edit> in there. Will it be enough? (im also pretty new at this stuff).

Old setup:
Chassis: Corsair Carbide 200R
PSU: Cooler Master G650M
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard: MSI B85M-E45, Socket-1150
GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Gaming X
(Not sure what cooling/fans i have)

Upgrades:
CPU: Intel Core i5-12400F
PSU: ASUS ROG Strix 850
Motherboard: MSI MAG B660 TOMAHAWK WIFI (DDR4)
GPU: ASUS Dual GeForce RTX 3060 12GB OC V2
Some RAM.

Not changing PC case.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you use the fan that come with the 12400f you should be good. The case fans are likely ok. Try it and watch your temps. You can always take the side of the case off the machine temporarily if you do have temp issues.

Mostly if you have issue it would be to add fans not so much replace them. The time it becomes more important is when your case has lots of solid panels and few places to mount fans.

Reactions: SHI KI

SHI KI

Honorable
May 18, 2017
If you use the fan that come with the 12400f you should be good. The case fans are likely ok. Try it and watch your temps. You can always take the side of the case off the machine temporarily if you do have temp issues.

Mostly if you have issue it would be to add fans not so much replace them. The time it becomes more important is when your case has lots of solid panels and few places to mount fans.
Okay thank you, that's very helpful!
Probably a dumb question but, how do i watch the temps? Do i have to do it through BIOS or is there some other way to do it? :)

SHI KI

Honorable
May 18, 2017