Do SSDs really have shorter life spans? I am scared

ravenbear

Commendable
Sep 18, 2016
I have been using a pair of WD Blue 640gb 7200 rpm drives for the past 9 years and have never had any problems. I recently did a new pc build and am considering getting a SSD for it but am paranoid about its longevity. I would like the SSD to still work 9 years later like my old hard drives do.

The drive I was considering in particular is the Crucial MX300 525gb M.2 sata drive for $115. It only has a 3 year warranty (compared to the 10 year warranty on some expensive Samsung and SanDisk drives which are out of my price range).

I am hoping the 3 year warranty vs the 10 year warranty on expensive drives doesn't mean that this drive is likely to fail after 3 years? Since it is 525gb the drive would be used for all purpose - Windows, games, and even short term storage for media/documents. I would probably have this as the only drive in my computer since 525gb is enough for me.

Should I get this SSD or stick with hard drive if I want long term viability?

Math Geek

Titan
Ambassador
the crucial ssd has an " endurance rating of up to 220TB total bytes written" that's a lot but if you try to use the drive for non-stop torrents or such activity it won't last as long.

this is 419 complete ssd fill-ups but probably less in reality. have to do some computing but this let's you fill it up and delete it 3+ times a month over 10 year span!!! probably gonna last a while under normal use ;)

USAFRet

Titan

And for a real world comparison, my previous OS drive (120GB Kingston) racked up 12.5TB in 3+ years of use.
It is not being used right now simply due to size. It is awaiting another PC to go into.

Both of my Crucial SSDs are ~2-3 years old with ~10-12 TB written according to a diagnostic utility. They are predicted to be at 98% of their rated lifespan and predicted to last until 2025.