Do you plug your PSU into the wall, surge protector, or UPS?

bikeracer4487

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2009
I've heard some people swear by surge protectors / UPS's, and others that say that the PSU doesn't get the wattage it needs when connected to those, and I'm wondering if there's any generally accepted opinion.

fkr

Splendid
surge protector are a great idea just for some safety of your equipment. a ups will allow you to keep your computer running in case of a power outage and also cleans up or regulates the power so that is always good for equipment.

a minimum of a surge protector should be used and a ups is the best way to go.

bikeracer4487

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2009

Oh, I'm a familiar with the tech (and I'm currently plugged into a surge protetcor). The reason I don't have a UPS available is because I have a 1200W PSU, and a UPS powerful enough run that is just crazy expensive... I'm just looking to find out if there's any truth to the rumors about surge protectors not delivering enough juice to the PSU.

fkr

Splendid
could there be some that do not work properly, I would guess so but if you buy a quality unit then there is no chance that it does not provide the correct amount of electricity as it is just a pass through with a fuse.

there would have to be some kind of defect in order for it not to send the electricity through.

maybe if they used really thin wires or something that could do it but would also catch on fire because resistance.

Bombie1138

Honorable
Nov 21, 2013
I have a great surge suppressor,..
but I forgot to run my ethernet through it when that lightning bolt fried my modem and motherboard,.
always use a surge suppressor,..and don't buy a cheap one,..
I have more issues with a suppressor interfering with my internet stream then a problem with the power unit,..