domain users account horribly slow

Hello guys, I'm an IT tech at the job i work at and recently our senior IT director left leaving me in charge of everything here and me being only 20 havent had much real experience in the field. The problem im having is a single users domain account is super slow logging on and when it does log on everything freezes, explorer constantly crashes and needs to be closed and re run to get anything to work. Even then nothing ever works, i thought i had everything sorted out, ive done registry defrags, defrags, tweaks, everything. I'm thinking its not user profile related since when i log in to the local admin account it runs great, after all its an i5, 7gb of ram, i swear its really 6gb, and an ati gpu. any help would be great, ive tried everything to get it to work, but every time it seems better it goes back to the way it was. Should i try removing his user profile, and editing the registry to remove the sid of the account and rebuild his profile and copy over his files?

Solution
It's his profile on the machine. Log in as admin, and change the name of his profile(or delete it), and then log him in again, and it should create a new profile for him.
sounds like he may have a roaming profile or a folder redirect,.

lets start with seeing if he has a folder redirect, right click on his my documents and select properties, are the files on the machine or on a server?

open a command prompt type gpresult this will show any group policies applied to this user

download and install Group policy management console
review any gpo to see if this is impacting start up
check to see if he has roaming profile enabled, any startup scripts
run msconfig and look at the startup tab for unneeded programs running at startup