Downgrade from XP Home to 2k Pro

lethargic

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2003
I will be downloading from XP Home to 2k Pro in a few days. I will be reformatting and starting with a clean vanilla 2k installation.

Anyway... I have never used 2k PRO before and my pc is relatively new. I am just worried about hardware detection, drivers, and so on. Most of my hardware is probably more recent than this 2k install disk. Intel 845PEBT2 mobo with onboard sound and lan, for example. Then the GeForce4, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-105 and you get the picture.

I am just curious as to what steps I should take prior to install. Will Win 2k automatically be able to detect this stuff and install (at least the dvd-rw drives and so on) or will I need to hunt each driver down individually on the web?

Sorry of these are dumb questions. :p If things are too difficult, I will probably just format and pop XP Home back on the pc, but I'd like to switch.

elzt

Distinguished
May 10, 2002
It's a good idea to have the latest w2k drivers for all devices handy. Anyway, you can go ahead and install w2k. Next look in device manager which will tell you which devices are unknown (marked with a "!" sign), those are the ones that w2k is unable to detect automatically. Then just install the drivers for the unknown devices, if any. Also, there might be some devices that the o/s is able to detect, but uses the generic drivers instead. You should update those drivers as well.

Teq

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2003
Win2k sould pick up your CD, DVD, CDRW and other drives just fine.

I'd want to have at least video, sound and network drivers on hand, and you can sort the rest out when you see what does and doesn't get installed.

2k and XP use a lot of the same drivers so you may already have most of what you will need.

---><font color=green>It ain't better if it don't work</font color=green><---

budwyzerferret

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2003