Downgrade to Windows 7 gone all wrong

G

Good day everyone. I am still a student today and i own a pc with a pre-installed windows 7 os in it. when the new os (windows 8) had been available lately , i decided to upgrade to it. however, my sister (who is also a user of my pc) requested that windows 7 should be retained. the problem is i already installed windows 8 and got no idea how to downgrade back to7. i googled it and a site provided an instruction on doing one. it says about a series of steps. first to open command prompt during boot. then, rename all folders in drive c: (windows, program files, etc) using cmd "ren", then ultimately copying all the files from the previous os (which is located in "windows.old" folder) to the drive c:.

The problem is when i got to step two (renaming all folders in drives c:) the power accidentally died and when i restarted the pc. there is no os anymore to automatically boot (since all the windows system folders in c: had been renamed). my pc had become a vegetable right now. i don't know how to reverse my actions anymore since i can't even open command prompt anymore. is there any means of running a program (command prompt) in a flash drive during boot (without accessing c:)..?

Dark Lord of Tech

Retired Moderator
"If I use a Windows 8 Upgrade disc/download to upgrade my Windows 7 computer to Windows 8, can I then use my old Windows 7 disc and product key to install Windows 7 on another computer?"

No. The Windows 8 Upgrade license replaces the previous Windows 7 (or Windows Vista or Windows XP) license.

To be clear: your old version of Windows that you upgraded from can no longer be used on your current, or any other,
computer.

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/windows-8-install-faq.htm

ChryznjonBasco

Honorable
May 21, 2013

apparently there is no os working on my pc. can i still reinstall win8 on it? i first installed win8 using .iso file on a usb drive i guess the computer will not boot the usb?