Question Download speed capped at 100mbps, solutions?

Snoobaa

Reputable
Feb 13, 2020
Hey,

I recently changed my internet plan from a <Mod Edit> poor 50/20 to 250/25, and all other internet enabled devices in my apartment are getting around 200mbps, but my PC (connected via ethernet), only gets around 90-95, with the status saying it is 100.0mbps. My motherboard is capable of it (MSI B550M-P gen3) and so is my router. I believe the problem is the internal wiring of my apartment. It doesn't seem likely that my apartment would have anything less than CAT5e though, as surely it is standard, considering that the building was built within the last 5 years.
Do I have any solutions to this that isn't to use a wifi adapter in/on my PC?

TIA

P.S. I'm not a total noob so please avoid 'try restart your pc' or 'try restart your router/modem' - thanks :).

Last edited by a moderator:
So how is the cable between your pc and the router actually connected.

Does it directly connect or do you plug it into some wall jack that somehow then connects to the router.

This is almost always a bad cable. If you have a direct connection just try a new one. Be careful lots of fake cable being sold, mostly those flat cables that have wires too thin to be actual ethernet cables.

If it is in the wall it gets a little more tricky. It seldom is the wire itself most times there is some issue with one of the connections in the jack. You can pull the jack and look for a lose connection but you will likely need a tester to see which pin is not correct. Pretty much you can pull the wires out cut off a bit and repunch them down in most cases.

Reactions: Snoobaa

Snoobaa

Reputable
Feb 13, 2020
So how is the cable between your pc and the router actually connected.

Does it directly connect or do you plug it into some wall jack that somehow then connects to the router.