Dual booting Win7 and Ubuntu (64bit)

Comsat

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2009
Hello -

I just built a new system and I'm moving on to installing the OSs. I would like to dual boot Ubunto and Windows 7 Home Pro (both 64 bit). I've never done this before and I'm a little nervous about partitioning the drive. I've been reading this how-to on Lifehacker as a guide but I'm still unsure of how best to size the partitions of my 1TB drive. I'll primarily be using Win7 and running a fair number of apps on that platform while Ubuntu is primarily being installed as my first foray into playing with Linux. Any direction would be welcome.

Solution
type "create and format" into your start search. CLICK ON create and format hard disk partitions. Right Click the drive you want to format and click "shrink volume" name it and select how much of it you want to shrink. Later you can shrink another piece of that drive and then you will have 3 partitions. You can then take the 3rd and put it into your Ubuntu by right clicking the Ubuntu partition and saying "extend volume". This will all be done in windows 7 disk management.

pathasse

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2009
Install Windows 7 first. Then make your partition in disk manager. It is really easy. From there I would set aside like 20gb to start. You can always increase it later with the same utility. Name it and install to it on boot.

Dameon_Bananaman

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2008
if your not sure about how to do this, you might want to consider using a program called wubi. Basically you install and run wubi (only about 2mb) and what that will do is download and install ubuntu onto your computer but install it into windows. You can select what drive you want it installed on, how much hard disk space you want to give it and what type of ubuntu you want, i use kubuntu.