Dual Head or Two Cards

Hershel

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2004
I am on the cusp of a new hardware purchase. I presently use an ATI dual head card on my Windows 2000-based Athlon XP system. A friend of mine suggested to me that for me, I might do better with two single-head cards than one dual. I plan to again get an Athlon system and continue with Windows 2K or maybe XP.

I do absolutely zero gaming and my general graphics needs are quite simple. I am a programmer so I generally am looking at text or still images.

Is there an advantage to two simple cards over one dual?

Thank you,
Hershel Robinson

gothitbycar

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2002
I'm not sure how well Windows handles two video cards for dual display. Though I am sure using one dual head video card would be easier. I think it is just too much of a hassle to have two video cards for that because one will be AGP and the other will have to be PCI (or both PCI).

Other problems may stem from the drivers of both the cards. Also with one card it generate less heat than the two, requires less power and takes up one less slot as long as it isn't a high performance one. A single dual head card is cheaper than two single output ones (unless you get 2 super ultra cheap ones.)

-----------------------
[mind went blank]

Windows will see them both fine and will actually see one of the outputs on your card as a seperate PCI entity anyways. There is little advantage to using two seperate cards with the power these cards have. The most important thing will be the RAMDACs on your cards, make sure there are two, make sure that they are 400mhz. With that you should be as fast/clean/clear as you can get, and then you don't have the PCI card sapping resources. In gaming you'd see differences, but even then the current cards are so powerful that the difference would be minor.