Status
Not open for further replies.

V-Key

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2010
I was wondering, would I get better performance if I was to build a dual intel x5680 (hex-core) processor system, for 3d rendering, photoshop and video games. Or should I just stay with a hex core i7 system. I am not a professional, I want to build a multi purpose system, that will be able to tackle any type of workload at the consumer level.

^+1. This is highly dependent on your application. For example, Maya will benefit quite a lot from a 2P set up. A good 2P workstation with a workstation GPU and a SSD will run about $2500-3000 easily.

If you are not a pro, a i7 930/950 OCed set up should be more than enough. A 2P isn't really worth it for most people.

edit:
Also, if you don't need this system ASAP, I recommend waiting for Sandy Bridge and see esp. if you don't need a 2P.

A Dual socket motherboard is ~500 dollars minimum. Your processors are $1,723.15 EACH. It's FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS JUST FOR MOBO AND 2X CPU'S. I would assume you can't afford this so I'm not going to comment further about it.

Instead just go with a core i7 QUAD core. You don't need a hex core. I would suggest since you're not a professional (you don't make money on it) that you aim it as a gaming PC which would be a lot more affordable and assumes most other purposes.

V-Key

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2010

Actually I can afford this, my wife want me to get it as my Christmas/birthday present. I have been wanting to get a dual processor MAC, but it looks like I can build a windows based system just as powerful at about half the cost. So what do you about building something like they have by digital storm (http://www.digitalstormonline.com/comploadsaved.asp?id=391678 ) vs apple power mac.