czechplease

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
I'm new to this dual monitor setup, so I was wondering if I could get some help. I'm looking to have two separate desktops for my computer, which sounds like it defeats the purpose of having two monitors. I'd like to be able play games on one monitor (Oblivion is my current favorite), as well as chat online and browse web pages. This isn't too difficult, except for a few problems:
1) When I play Oblivion, because I don't play at the native resolution, it reduces the size of the other screen.
2) When I alt-tab from Oblivion, it minimizes it, defeating the purpose.

My goal is to be able to play Oblivion, and then alt-tab and browse or chat as desired. I can somewhat work around the resolution thing, but I don't really want to do that. I've played with UltraMon a bit, and it helps, but I guess I'm really looking for something that will lock the mouse within one screen until i press some keys to switch to the other monitor. If anyone has any ideas, I'm open to suggestions. Thanks.

Hose

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2005
What you want is very easy to do. Just get a dualhead video card so you can attach 2 monitors, then go into Display and activate the second monitor in Extended Desktop. Size your game as you like in one monitor, size the other stuff in the other monitor... or full screen to fill the monitor, for each.

czechplease

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
I'm not trying to be rude, but it's not that easy. I don't want my mouse wandering onto the other screen when it's setup that way. Also, as I stated, when I'm not playing at the native resolution, it "pushes" the second display so I can't see everything that was there. I'm looking for software that will treat each monitor as it's own desktop, similar to what UltraMon does, but with a bit more.

Hose

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2005