Question Dual SFP Card

The PCIe is not likely the limitation. Remember pcie numbers are in MBYTE.

It is very complex to use 2 ports at those speeds. Largest issue is getting a disk/file system can run that fast. You also have limits on using 2 ports on the same OS.

LittleCreekHosting

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2015
The PCIe is not likely the limitation. Remember pcie numbers are in MBYTE.

It is very complex to use 2 ports at those speeds. Largest issue is getting a disk/file system can run that fast. You also have limits on using 2 ports on the same OS.

I plan to use it for a Linux router. I have been using Linux routers for more than 10 years. This is my first time wanting to use a 10 G. I will have 10 G fiber coming from the data center and then out to a 10 G switch. It should just forward the packets. You mention limits on using 2 ports on the same OS. Wouldn't Linux just see it as 2 different interfaces?

linux is a little more tolerant than windows is. Even on windows it works fine if the 2 interfaces are 2 different networks. What a lot of people try to do is combine the 2 ports or put them on the same network. Windows tends to not like that.

There's several other home datacenter based forums. I'd check some other places. A lot of fiber stuff people buy used. I'm not sure the best ones to pick but there's a lot of options and nuance. 10G used and DAC cable compatible isn't too expensive from what I under stand. Also watch out for older stuff using a ton of power. If you don't really need 10G it's not really worth the hassle. the best option is often what data centers used the most and are replacing since it ends up being pretty cheap 2nd hand. most of it costs a fortune new.