Duron beefiness? Need help on new system

SerArthurDayne

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2001
I'm rather new to putting my own system together, but I figure now's the time to save money and enjoy the benefits of some good components. I also wish to overclock my system to get the most from it, but never fear, I do have a skilled overclocker to assist me and I won't turn my system into a pile of fried garbage. What I've been wondering is... what's the best processor for cash/overclocking bang? Seems to me nobody's getting a whole lot of extra speed out of the faster thunderbirds, but then I see a Duron 600 running at at least 900 and up to 1100. So.... since a Duron 600 is way cheap anyway, I think I'll try it. My planned specs are:

Processor: AMD Duron 600
Motherboard: ABIT KT7
Heatsink and fan: Either swiftech MC or monster 2 cooler from OCZ + arctic silver
Memory: 256 MB PC 133
HardDrive: 7200 RPM Diamondmax (already have)
Case: Enlight ATX midtower w/ 300 watt power supply
Videocard: Asus Geforce2 GTS
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Live PCI

I figure altogether I'll have to spend 600 on the listed components. Any recommendations or problems foreseen? And am I right about the Durons and the Thunderbirds?

And I've already got a network card, modem, dvdrom and cdwriter I can use. Any suggestions?

G

I've been thinking about this issue lately, I'm not sure if I favor the duron or the athlon... In theory durons shouldn't be able to go extremely high. However some people are cracking 1ghz with them. I sort of question the reliability in these situations. The max clock your processor can get is not a stable one. The athlon TBs are really cheap now a days. Most of them are Cu so you should get a higher theoretical clock out of them. I think all 800mhz+ are Cu while about 1/2 of 700/750s are Cu. 1.1ghz seems to be fairly common.

Grizely1

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007