Each and all

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Is there any differance between each and all...

exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.

i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually target
EVERY creature instead of all of them...

Sorry for my poor english
Thanx in advance
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Mjolnir <dalung007@hotmail.com> wrote:

> Is there any differance between each and all...
>
> exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
> i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually target
> EVERY creature instead of all of them...

They tend to use "each" if it's anything more complex than "destroy all
creatures".
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 

Maz

Distinguished
May 15, 2004
62
0
18,630
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Mjolnir schrieb:
> Is there any differance between each and all...
>
> exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
> i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually target
> EVERY creature instead of all of them...
>
> Sorry for my poor english
> Thanx in advance
>
>

No there is no difference here.
A spell or effect only trgets if it includes the key word "target".
(The only exception are local enchantments on the stack)
 

Maz

Distinguished
May 15, 2004
62
0
18,630
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

> Is there any differance between each and all...
>
> exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
> i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually
target EVERY creature instead of all of them...
>
> Sorry for my poor english
> Thanx in advance
>

No there is no difference here.
A spell or effect only targets if it includes the key word "target".
(The only exception are local enchantments on the stack)
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 17 Mar 2005, Mjolnir wrote:

> Is there any differance between each and all...
>
> exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
> i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually target
> EVERY creature instead of all of them...

A card (other than a local enchantment on the stack) doesn't target
unless it uses the word "target". The word "each" is not the word
"target".

The only difference I see is that after the word "all" you get plural:
"... all creatures ..." versus "... each creature ..."

--
David
 

Maz

Distinguished
May 15, 2004
62
0
18,630
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

> Is there any differance between each and all...
>
> exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
> i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually
target EVERY creature instead of all of them...
>
> Sorry for my poor english
> Thanx in advance
>

No there is no difference here.
A spell or ability only targets if it includes the key word "target".
(The only exceptions are local enchantments on the stack and the "equip"
ability without reminder text).
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 17 Mar 2005 15:27:41 -0500, Mjolnir <dalung007@hotmail.com> wrote:
>Is there any differance between each and all...

Not particularly.

>exemple: destroy all creature in play and destroy each creature in play.
>
>i'm asking because i wonder if the word each means that it actually target
>EVERY creature instead of all of them...

Neither of these wordings targets anything at all. To target, the wording in
Oracle has to use the WORD "target". (Or it has to be a local-enchantment
spell being cast; those target what the enchantment will become attached to,
so an "Enchant Creature" spell must target a creature.)

Neither of your wordings uses the word "target", so neither one targets. Both
will -affect- all creatures, destroying them; that has nothing to do with
whether they -target- something specifically.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.