Elaborate on overclocking process for Cele333a

G

Hi forum members. I've been contemplating overclocking my cpu for some time but I've only recently decided to delve into the oc'ng art. I do plan on upgrading my whole system in the upcoming months, so at the moment I'm only looking for a quick fix to aid in pushing my 3d card(Geforce2MX)which should in turn equate to improved framerates for games and programs, etc. My current sys specs= Abit BH6 Intel 440BX chipset, 333a celeron, 128mb ram. I hear that this chip has the potential to be upped to 450mhz, is this correct?

Anyway, since I'm fairly new to all this, I'd appreciate some more insight on how I can go about reaching this goal. I believe it has something to do with the multiplier and user defined mode in the bios setup, but I need more direction before I proceed. I really appreciate the assistance and will check back for pointers. Thanks..

PS. I'm using only the regular heatsink\fan active cooling combo. I would like to overclock to a moderate speed due to this, any suggestions?

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Go into BIOS and change the bus frequency to 100, that will give you 500. You might need to increase core voltage to make it work. A lot of people used to get 500 out of them. Otherwise, you'll have to change to some other bus speed between stock 66MHz and 100MHz.

Suicide is painless...........

G

Thanks for your swift response. Ok, here's what I show in my bios menu.

Cpu Operating Speed: User define
Turbo frequency: Disabled
External Clock: 66mhz
Multiplier Factor: X3.5
SEL 100/66# Signal: Low
L2 Cache Latency: Default
Speed Error Hold: Enabled
Cpu Power Supply: Cpu Default
Core Voltage: 2:00V

The error message I receive after altering the bus freq to 100mhz or 83mhz=Cpu unworkable or has been changed. Where do I go from here? Again, the cpu is a celeron 333a. Let me know of my options. Thanks.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff