Error message: Windows cannot be installed to this disk...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mattangle

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2012
Help! I tried to reinstall my windows 7 today, and at first it seemed to be going well, but then it reset me back to the windows dvd install screen and when I try to install windows it gives me this message: Windows cannot be installed to this disk. "This computers hardware may not support booting to this disk. Ensure that the disks controller is enabled in the computers BIOs menu." I think I need to change some BIOs settings on my motherboard or something but I am really just not sure, it's my first time build and this really is beyond me. If anyone has any experience on what to do or any advice I would be really grateful for it.

The HD I am using is a Westinghouse 1T and the motherboard is a ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 AM3+.

Thank you so much
Matthew

I'm pulling up info on the motherboard now....will update post when I find the info I'm looking for.

UPDATE:
Press DEL to get into the bios as the computer is booting up. Go to OnChip SATA channel under the Advanced Tab. Be sure it's set to Enabled. This will allow you to change the option for SATA Port1 -Port 4. This should be set to AHCI if this is the only SATA drive you have installed on the computer.

thatguychuck

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2011
I don't remember specifics but I had a similar message trying to install Windows 7 from USB. The install appear to be going fine until the first reboot, and then it would error out. The workaround was to wait for the first reboot and remove the USB before it restarted. It doesn't need the install media past a certain point, and for some reason it thought the USB was the install destination. Are you on USB or DVD? I suppose the theory might apply to DVD as well, but am not sure. Best of luck solution hunting!

mattangle

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2012