Question Ethernet adapter suddenly dead. GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H REV 1 (windows 10 pro)

Apr 28, 2022
I was working on my desktop pc last night while listening to a youtube video and my system froze all of the sudden. I had to hard reset the system and upon restart my ethernet adaptor had no internet connection; when i ran the network troubleshooter the problems found were

"Ethernet" doesn't have a valid IP configuration
Your computer appears to be correctly configured but the device or serouce (DNS server) is not responding

This is my first time asking in a forum like this. I have searched the internet for answers. But nothing seems to work.
So far i have switched the ethernet cable with the one on the PS4; checked the ps4 had connection through ethernet: IT was working fine; i restarted the router; installed the latest driver; opened command promt and wrote a bunch of ip config commands; tried Technitium Mac Adress Changer to change the mac of my ethernet and local area connection (i can't seem to change the mac adress on the USB blue tooth adapter.

And nothing seems to work. This is an old mother board: GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H REV 1. ; running Windows 10 pro. It has worked like a champ for years and i was planning to retire it next year as i recently purchased a graphics tablet and i can't afford a new motherboard. The ethernet adapter is integrated to the motherboars so i'm kind of afraid it would be a hardware problem. I want to rule out software before getting a usb or pci express adapter that might patch up the problem until next year.

what steps can i take next? A live boot thumb drive to test the adapter?

Last edited:

kanewolf

Titan
I was working on my desktop pc last night while listening to a youtube video and my system froze all of the sudden. I had to hard reset the system and upon restart my ethernet adaptor had no internet connection; when i ran the network troubleshooter the problems found were

"Ethernet" doesn't have a valid IP configuration