EVGA power supply exploded 0.o

app25

Reputable
Jul 1, 2014
First of all, my specs.
MOBO-Z97 gaming 7
CPU-I7-4790k @4.4ghz @1.154 volts (was used at the time) Benchmark is 4.8 ghz at 1.3v 5ghz at 1.4
GPU-Nvidia GTX 980 Ti with custom bios 500 watt tdp 1405 mhz
Storage-2 samsung 850 pros and a 1tb WD caviar blue hd 7200 rpm
PSU EVGA G2 850 Watt power supply with the 90$ custom white sleeved cables by evga made specifically for G2/T2/P2 power supplies
Monitor- Asus vg248qe 144 hz 1 ms 1080p

I have been using this power supply with the custom cables and everything for almost 2 months now with no problems ( was using it on eco mode as well if that makes a difference, fan definitly worked I could hear it turn on every now and then). Today I started playing Black Ops 2 a low demanding game when my pc shut off, then AFTER my pc shut off like a split second after I heard a loud pop and a nasty ass smell, as well as a blue light come out of the psu. It definitly blew. I used a spare rosewill 750 watt 80+ gold non modular psu and nothing broke other than the psu. Im wondering what this could be? Does anyone know if maybe a capacitor went bad? or did the eco mode not work well enough and it overheated? The outside of the psu was no hotter than my laptops power brick. What could have happened? I already ordered a new evga g2 850 watt from newegg cuz I dont care about 150$ I just need my pc back up quick. Id just like to know what happened so it doesn't happen again. ANy help appreciated, thanks!

P.S haven't heard of this happening online, I Might be one of 10 people its happened to with this psu?

Solution
PSUs can fail, even EVGAs.
I dont know why you ordered a new one though, just contact EVGA and have yours replaced, they will no doubt send you a new unit.

Remixex

Reputable
Mar 18, 2014
Bad luck is my best guess, those are good units, or so i've read.