Question EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra keeps freezing PC

L0N3STARR

Reputable
Feb 20, 2020
twitch.tv
I bought the GPU used and everything else new. Seller claimed he bought it B-Stock and ran it for 6 months with no issues.

Running:
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Ultra MOBO
Intel i9-12900k CPU
EVGA Supernova 1000 G+ 80 Plus Gold PSU
Corsair Vengeance 5600 MHz DDR5 RAM
EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra GPU

I've tried stress testing everything else so I'm confident it's the GPU as it freezes when stressing the GPU. I can provide thermal numbers if helpful.

Did I get scammed and sold a lemon, or could something else be going on?

If it's a bad card, what can I do? Does EVGA do repairs on cards bought used? I assume RMA is out of the question. Can I repair myself if it's a faulty card? I am an electrical engineer so I am comfortable taking it apart, but less comfortable doing any soldering on the board.

Any help appreciated.

I do think you should not bought it without testing it first because it could be faulty card and he sold it to you, You can check to see anyone can fix it for a price like repair shop. But buying used GPU off market is risky. So really the seller bought used GPU and sold it used so had around 2 owners. Also your PSU specs are good so could off been sold faulty card

Download EVGA precision x1. If the original owner never ran it, it might do a bios update. You can also try and limit the power usage to see if that will help the issue. The nice but troubling thing with these cards are they overclock themselves. If temps, voltage, and power limit are not reached it will keep boosting the card till one is meet.

by limiting the voltage or power limit you will restrict how far the boost can go and might not cause the failure.

Remember that anything over 1800MHz is over the boost limit and technically not covered a failure by the Manufacture.