extending amplified cellular signal

ammcrandall

Prominent
Dec 27, 2017
Hopefully I can make this understandable - I am far from a techie on any of this.
I work from home and need decent wifi. I also live in an area where hi speed internet is not readily available and so I use a jetpack and cell phone hotspot from verizon. This area does not have good cellular service either so I installed a SureCall antenna and signal amplifier, which works rather well. I can usually perform any required work plus use my tablet, with cellular data, for any streaming activities. I do have an unlimited data plan and things work pretty well. The issue I am having is that I have added a home office in a different area of the home and my signal in this part of the home is degraded from what it is nearest the SureCall indoor antenna. Since everything I do is based on a cell signal I am trying to extend that signal to this other part of the house.
First thing I tried was to split the signal, right at the outdoor antenna, and then ran a separate cable to my office, with its own signal amplifier (giving me two within the same house). This didn't seem to work at all. The split signal appears to be a bit weaker and only the original amp and indoor antenna seem to be actually working. It is a smaller home and it seems that I may be getting some interference with this setup. What I would like to know is: can I just go back to my original setup and use some type of extender or repeater to boost the signal that I am receiving in the main part of the house with the original SureCall amp and indoor antenna?
Though the home is small there are a few walls between the original indoor antenna and my new office so I am just looking for the best way to extend the signal.
Does this make any sense?
Any and all help is appreciated.

Solution

vmfantom

Notable
Nov 28, 2017