external hard drive samsung m3 1tb became raw

luke0001

Reputable
Apr 20, 2016
hi everyone. it is my first time posting here so please bear with me. :)
i have a samsung m3 externak hdd 1tb. it was working well until i misplaced the usb data cable. i tried using a different cable, like a generic micro usb cable connected it to the pc. unfortunately, it keeps getting disconnected then reconnect by itself. i mean, i didn't unplug nor removed the cable, i just plugged it to the pc then its acting like it is being ejected then reconnected back to the pc. same thing when you are plugging a flash drive to the usb then you plug it back in then unplug then replug and it keeps going on and on, until i decided to not use my external hdd until I bought a new data cable. when i used the new data cable that fits well with the hdd, it was detected by my pc but it is giving me an error, the drive in e: needs to be formatted before you can use it. I don't want to format it because of all the files in thedrive but when i go to my computer, the drive e: is blank, went to properties and it is showing 0 bytes.
i tried to connect the external hdd to my tv and it can detect all my movies but some movies are no longer playable. i asked my friend to connect it to his pc using win 7 but it still shows an error that it needs to be formatted. he tried using a linux mint and it was able to detect and see the files. so he tried to boot back to windows and tried repairing it using testdisk folliwing this article http://html5.litten.com/updated-how-to-fix-external-disk-drive-suddenly-became-raw/

but still no go. tried chkdsk but it freezes or won't continue.

tried booting back to linux mint so i can copy my files but no longer able to do that since the drive can no longer be mounted or accessible. still able to see some of the movie files when connected to my tv. but i need your help, i want to know if there is any way i can recover my files or if not, can i still use my m3 external hdd?