Question External hard drive shows empty

Jul 29, 2019
Hello, to the community!

So, I probably messed up but I wouldn't really know because I'm not an expert on computers. So, here's my problem.
I connected my external hard drive to my laptop via USB but it wouldn't recognize it as a drive. It would only show up at Devices & Printers, so obviously I couldn't reach the files. I googled for a solution and came across a suggestion about assigning a letter to the drive. I followed the steps and added a letter (letter E in particular, for whatever it's worth).
Then it was recognized... but it was [censored] empty.

So, my questions are, did I messed up? Are the files still there? Are they retrievable?

PS: For whatever it's worth, a few days ago I connected the hard drive to PS4 and I think it proposed my a change in its format in order to read it and I pressed accept or something. I'm sorry, I can't recall exactly.

I hope y'all can help me out here.

Last edited by a moderator:

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
PS: For whatever it's worth, a few days ago I connected the hard drive to PS4 and I think it proposed my a change in its format in order to read it and I pressed accept or something. I'm sorry, I can't recall exactly.
This wipes the hard drive of any data. And would also explain why it lost it's letter designation and data.
When the PS4 wiped the drive, it formatted it, so that Windows wouldn't recognise it initially, and wiped the data on it.

Did I lost them permanently?

Yes if you didn't keep any backups on a separate HDD.

You may be able to retrieve some files with partition recovery software but because it was formatted by the XBox at some point, that will further complicate things, and at the very least some of what is recovered will just be corrupted or incomplete files which will be unusable.

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
Agreed with above.