Question Extremely frustrating BSOD every 20mins

Apr 20, 2021
Specs:
AMD Ryzen 5 3500X 6-Core Processor, 3593 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)
Gigabyte B450 GAMING X
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 16GB (2x8GB) 3200MHz DDR4

Hi all - help appreciated, and large number of minidumps attached. I'm a bit of a noob and learning as I go, trialling different fixes.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ao63W5UIGV-agzbVCQqfG5qUm3Ch?e=sniF0W

I recently replaced my motherboard, RAM and CPU about two months ago to the above, after a power surge fried my old motherboard.

I used to rarely experience a freeze issue where video will freeze and the sound freezes or loops repeatedly in buzzing sound.

In the last 3-4 weeks, this crash, as well as BSODs have become very frequent, almost like every 20 minutes. This is extremely frustrating when using this computer to work from home.

It seemed to occur most often while watching streaming video (youtube) on all browsers (Opera, Chrome, Edge, Firefox).
Sometimes the web page would get killed and show an error page.

Then specific apps would slow down, freeze, then crash and close - like twitter app, discord, steam.

The funny thing is I've figured out a "fix" that calms down the BSOD error frequency. I start a game in steam and leave the game on all day in the background while working. For whatever reason it staves off BSOD for several hours, instead of every 20 minutes.

I've tried the following:
  • Several clean installs of windows from USB boot
  • Updating all drivers
  • Getting all Windows updates
  • Rolling back Windows updates one by one
  • DDU clean re-install of latest GeForce driver,
  • rolling back GeForce drivers
  • Disabling the GPU driver, audio drivers, iCUE for the mouse, unplugging peripherals
  • I've tried testing the RAM using mem86 and windows mem test which came up no errors.