F23 Server - "Unknown Error" During Installation - DeviceTreeError?

sbcelicagt

Prominent
Apr 17, 2017
Background: I'm totally new to linux and my end goal is to get an Amahi 9 based home server setup (which requires Fedora 23 Server to be installed first). I had previous success with an older set of hardware that I used as a trial run before investing in new hardware and additional storage. The new hardware setup consists of an AMD A88X based system (Asrock FM2A88M +Pro3 and AMD APU) and I re-used 2 of the old SATA hard drives by pairing them up with the UEFI AMD hardware RAID (1) process.

To make sure the RAID drives were set up correctly, I mock-installed Windows 10 up to the point of choosing a hard drive location. After using a separate USB flash drive to load the AMD RAID drivers, everything appeared to work fine.

Which brings me to the F23 Server installation process. With the hard drives plugged in, the installation process crashes right after the language menu GUI pops up indicating an "Unknown Error" has occurred. I tried out the bug submittal process:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1297624#c20

reason: blivet.errors.DeviceTreeError: failed to add slave viaccbhhiciad of device viaccbhhiciad1

What does that mean? Not sure how to troubleshoot at this point. I tried both the UEFI and BIOS boot versions of my Fedora Media Writer based flash drive. I tried both the Net Install and full versions of the F23 Server ISO.

Solution
Have you tried a later version of Fedora? I don't know if it will help with the problem you're having, but as Fedora 23 is no longer supported you'll have an obsolete OS even if you manage to get this working.

sbcelicagt

Prominent
Apr 17, 2017

Thanks for the reply. To absolutely confirm it was a conflict with the AMD RAID controller, I changed the UEFI setting for storage back to AHCI and the Fedora installer doesn't appear to be angry anymore.