[SOLVED] Fan Layout - Please Help

Feb 3, 2020
I am a newbie and could use advice. This build is for 3D work. I'm going to be adding a second GPU, same kind.

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/renderphire/saved/CWgJf7

I'm planning to put the Kraken X62 in the front of the P600s case. The case comes with two 140mm fans installed in the front and one 140mm fan in the rear.

I'm considering adding two 140mm fans for a push pull configuration in the front. Would this mean I should remove the included front two P600s fans?

What considerations should I make for the top of the case? Or would no fans be better?

Report Edit Delete Follow comments

Solution
A fan has 2 sides. An intake/draw side and exhaust side. That's going to determine direction of flow through the fan. How you place the fan will determine direction of flow through the case.

99% of recommended case layouts is air in low front, air out high rear. So the rad will be setup as intake, the top fans as exhaust. The rad itself is an obstruction, so has 2 possible scenarios. Can either mount the fans as a push intake or a pull intake.

There's a balance to rad science concerning fans. It's the balance between Static Pressure and CFM. At lower rpm, like @ 1200 or lower, the pull from the fan has more ability than the push, so at lower rpm mounting rad fans in pull can get a free 2-4°C over push. At higher rpm, @ 1500+, there's...

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
Doubtful you'll get much of anything but noise from adding push/pull. Generally, with the science of today's fans, you'll get only 2-3°C on the cpu. It was only with the older fan designs where it was a fan, no real thought put into them, that saw real benefits.

Since the kraken comes with decent fans, I'd use those on the rad as either push or pull (push if using noisier performance mode, high rpm fans / pull if using silent mode, lower rpm fans) and move the factory included fans to the top.