Build Advice Fanless PC build advice ?

May 24, 2023
Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to PC building but have tried to read up a lot over the last few weeks. I am upgrading from a very old system (phenom x6 1090t and 1050ti), but have some very important needs. I do not require cutting edge performance, but compatibility with the latest features would be a plus.

Fanless. Or as close to fanless as possible. I hate computer noise but would be willing to put a single Noctua low RPM 200mm fan as an exhaust on the case to aid passive airflow, as it is virtually silent.

CPU cooling
I intend to purchase a Ryzen 7000 series non-X processor and passively cool it with a NoFan CR-95c (easily modded to fit AM4/5) which is equal in performance to the Noctua NF-P1 (better maybe!). If I come across a CR-100a cooler I will use that instead despite the awkward size blocking the top couple of PCI slots, as it outperforms the NF-P1 significantly.
I am aware I could get a 7000 x series and tamper with the settings to get the TDP down to 65W.

I would consider the latest intel offerings. Really it comes down to the Motherboard and having enough space for the CR-95 (or using the second/third slots or riser with a CR-100a).

GPU Cooling
This is where I am having trouble. I already have a KalmX 1050ti and it’s awesome, but old! The KalmX 1650 is offers more performance but is also dated. I have seen a custom cooled RX 6400, but it seems to offer very marginal performance gains to the KalmX 1650 and lacking many features. This also rules out modding the RX 6500 XT for the same reason. That leaves me with the RX 6600 XT which performs well when modded to run at lower power, making it suitable for a custom heat sink solution without a fan, but I haven’t seen anyone attempt this so I do not even know if it’s possible (the RX 6400 uses a custom copper plate to help dissipate heat to an accelero heat sink).