[SOLVED] Fastest RAID storage for single user with lots of data (>50TB)

Jan 19, 2019
Hi There, First time novice poster who builds my own sole-use server, looking for some advice from IT pros here about the fastest local storage setup I can create (in terms of Read/Write).

I’m an economist doing research with large data. About 40-50TBs stored locally and file sizes as big as 80GB. I personally built my current Raid 60 setup about 4 years ago (24x3TB drives, 12 drives in each Raid6 striped with Raid0). I’m now looking to build something larger (~100TB) and faster in the next few months. I’m the only user on this machine, but even then the analysis can take hours/days (depending on sample size) primarily due to io speeds. Current speeds are in the range of 800-1200 MB/s. All of my data is backed up online, so I’m strictly looking to build something that has a good balance of having fast read/write speeds, with low risk of downtime due to the Raid degrading.

My question is what is the fastest Raid setup I can get in the $5000-$10,000 range (Maybe higher if there is a significant advantage)?

My current setup:
ASUS X99-DELUXE II LGA 2011-v3
Xeon 1650 V4
LSI 9361-8i + Intel Raid Expander RES3TV360 (Using LSI Megaraid to manage the Array)
256 GB Kingston DDR4 2400 (Some of the statistical software I use runs the analysis in memory)
Norco 4224 case
Windows 10, no separate server OS, just running as if it’s a regular PC with a big local D: drive.

Things I’ve thought doing, (which I don’t even know if possible with LSI Megaraid):
Expand to 48 drives, and then either doing 4 arrays x 12 drives in Raid 60 (Do I call this Raid 60+0+0?), or possibly 8 arrays x 6 drives Raid 50 (Raid 50+0+0+0+0?). Is this too risky? Is there a better alternative? Or should I be thinking of a separate setup completely? Thanks in advance.

Follow up question
Maybe I can ask more specific follow up questions if there are no answers for the above question.