Build Advice Feedback on budget CAD/CAM video editing workstation

Oct 4, 2020
Just lost my CAD/CAM laptop and need to buy a replacement ASAP. I'm a teacher and teaching remotely so will likely order parts tomorrow. I'm going with a desktop this time to save money and hopefully get a better video editing setup without spending a ton of money. I'd like to stay around $1500. Last time I built a computer from parts it was a Pentium Pro rig (with a tape drive for backup) if that gives you any idea of how rusty my knowledge is.

I teach Mastercam and Solidworks. Nothing super intensive in either of those apps. My Dell Precision 5520 with 32GB of RAM (that I just lost) handled everything just fine except for some larger Solidworks assemblies that I did for personal projects. I also shoot and edit instructional machining videos in Davinci Resolve and the laptop just barely coped and ran hot and loud making voiceovers difficult at times. If possible I would like to be able to edit 4k video with this rig and have something that runs reasonably quiet.

Here is what I've spec'd out so far, I'd appreciate feedback. The GPU is obviously chosen to save money with plans to upgrade later on if necessary. With that said, should I go with a larger PSU to increase my GPU options? Are there other inexpensive GPU's that I should consider? This will never be a gaming rig.

Thanks for your time

CPU (and cooler)
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-core, 24-thread unlocked desktop processor with Wraith Prism LED Cooler

Motherboard
ASRock B550 Steel Legend Supports 3rd Gen AMD AM4 Ryzen/Future AMD Ryzen Processors Motherboard

GPU
Nvidia Quadro M4000 8GB GDDR5 256-bit PCI Express 3.0 x16 Full Height Video Card (Renewed)

PSU
Fractal Design Ion+ Platinum 660W PSU - 80 PLUS Platinum - ATX - High performance Power Supply - Fully Modular - Zero RPM - Silent 140 mm fan FDB Bearings - UltraFlex Cables - 10 year warranty - Black

Case