First Custom Build (Video-Editing, Gaming)

supersebey

Reputable
Mar 14, 2014
Hello everyone!

I don't know much about computer parts so it would be very helpful if you gave me some advice on the following question.

So I recently decided I want to build my first computer even though I am very new to this topic. I want a good computer that can handle HD-Video Editing (Sony Vegas or Pinnacle Studio -not too intense-, not AE) and play maybe some games (only stuff like Minecraft or Gmod). Here is the build I came up with:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/39gqp
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/39gqp/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/39gqp/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($179.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($79.78 @ OutletPC)
Memory: Corsair XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($83.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($69.99 @ Microcenter)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($57.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card ($205.66 @ Newegg)
Case: Inwin GT1 Black ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($14.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $822.35
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-14 12:22 EDT-0400)

That is really all the money I have at the moment and I cannot purchase anything more expensive than 850$.

I am really not sure enough if the GPU and CPU will be good enough for video-editing and I wanted to know if I could get anything better than this build with the money or maybe save money somewhere. I am open to suggestions and hope to find some good advice. Thank you!