First PC Build Update

J_honan

Honorable
Jun 3, 2013
Hey guys! So this summer I'm going to be building my first PC. It will be used primarily for gaming as well as for just browsing the Internet and doing college class work. I don't need anything to powerful for gaming just enough to run any game on decent settings smoothly. I just want to be able to but games without worrying wether or not I can play it. After a lot of research I created a build and I was wondering if someone could take a look and make sure everything is compatible and let me know if my build is good enough. Just want some other opinions before I spend money. Let me know anything I can change and explain because I'm very new to all of this. Also I have a few questions: 1. How do I make sure my pc will connect to my wifi network? 2. Do I need a CPU cooler or is the stock one enough?

also let me know if I need to buy any other parts. I have a keyboard, mouse and monitor already

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($119.99 @ Newegg)

Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($95.99 @ NCIX US)

Memory: Mushkin Blackline 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($63.99 @ Newegg)

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.98 @ Outlet PC)

Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($187.99 @ Newegg)

Case: Zalman ZM-Z9 U3 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($53.98 @ Newegg)

Power Supply: Cooler Master eXtreme Power 550W ATX12V Power Supply ($56.63 @ Amazon)

Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($14.98 @ Outlet PC)

Total: $658.53

(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-06-05 03:46 EDT-0400)

any and all help is appreciated. Thanks again

This is what I'd look at:

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($134.99 @ Newegg)