First time builder, looking for cpu cooler and RAM recommendations

Dekester

Reputable
Jul 3, 2014
Hi everyone! I've been looking through all the resources here, and finally decided to post and get answers to the last nagging questions about my build.

First off, here is my build.

I am currently only needing the RAM and CPU cooling/extra case cooling to finish and finally build this. I'm really nervous and yet excited.

A little background on what I'm planning to do. As I said, I'm an extreme novice, but I've been doing research for about 4 months, picking up various parts when they go on sale etc. I am not planning to overclock, as I do not know how and am not keen on ruining any components. I've looked at self contained water cooling systems, and air cooling systems. I like the compact nature of water cooling, but I'm really nervous about leakage and am not sure if my system would need that much cooling. I've also looked at low profile and regular air cooling, and again, I'm not sure exactly what I would need. Also, would you recommend any additional fans for the case at the top or bottom?

As for RAM, I'm looking for 8gb, but I'm unsure whether 2x4Gb or 1x8Gb would be better, and which brand, model is the best for my needs. I am a gamer and plan on playing extensively on this system, (Mostly Wildstar, if I'm totally honest.)

Anyway, thanks so much for taking the time to read a post from a new person, and any advice/recommendations would be GREATLY appreciated.

Solution
The Antec HCG is a great PSU so no problems there, just that the EVGA G2 is a bit better, gold rated and fully modular. Just a bit more bang for your buck but if you already have the HCG then don't worry about it at all. The 4gb version won't hurt you just won't be fully utilized on a 1080p screen.
My recommendations: