Build Advice First time builder - opinions on system specs?

Scionwest

Reputable
May 18, 2020
I everyone - I was on here a few weeks ago asking for advice on a CyberPower PC machine and ended up buying it... It was an Instant Ship system that ended up not being ready to ship for 5 weeks... So I cancelled it. I've decided to build my own system now which will be a first for me.

I'm a software developer and pretty big into gaming, coming from a MacBook Pro where gaming is kind of nonexistent. I am looking for a system that will be pretty quiet and keep itself cool while giving me the juice I need for gaming at 1080p and do software development with dozens of Containers and VMs running (microservices horaay :rolleyes:). I saw some other cases out there that were quieter than the be Quiet! but seemed to run warmer - this case looked like a good middle ground with the default fan setup. I assumed adding 1 more at the top for exhaust would help the temps be a tad bit cooler than what I saw in some benchmarks.

Anyway, this is the system I've spec'd out. I'm wanting to make sure I have room for growth in storage. I was hoping to keep the build around $1800 or so and got pretty close to it. I think I could probably shave some off the motherboard if I went with something else but had a hard time determining what was a good one vs what I should avoid.

I appreciate any thoughts or opinions you could provide!

Reactions: Flayed

Scionwest

Reputable
May 18, 2020
I took a look at some of the 2060 Supers but noticed that the FPS even at 1080p on a lot of games, such as Assassins Creed Odyssey, is boarder line at 60fps. Since I won't be able to upgrade for several years I'm a little nervous that the I don't have a lot of headroom even at 1080p without turning graphics settings down. Would hate to spent the money and then have to start turning down graphics settings 12 months later.