First time builder, would like some advice

ynspyred

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2009
Hi everybody.

I am having a go at building my own desktop computer. I have never done this before, and so am a little nervous, so I come here to get a little help and advice.
I will use this computer for a little bit of game deving (with XNA, Irrlicht and GM), a little bit of game playing (think Half life 2 etc), and a little bit of music composing. At the moment, I have decided on the following parts for the build:
(NB: I am based in the UK. Newegg and other US sites are therefore out of bounds)
I have listed the parts, and for some, what I intend to buy. If anyone has better suggestions, please voice them.

Stuff I need:
Processor: AMD Phenom 2 940 (AM2+ socket). I need a pretty powerful CPU to handle a lot of tracks on Cubase, and this seems to get good reviews.
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA 720D US3. If I ever want another CPU, it supports AM3. Perhaps when AMD release an octo-core...
GPU: 9600GT. I found one for £55 on Scan. I am not too interested in playing Crysis or Farcry 2 at 2560x1600, max detail, so I think this will do, it should suit my game dev and playing needs just fine. If it can max out Battlefront 2 at 1680x1050, 4xAA, then that suits me fine. In fact, if any other card can do this for less money, even better! 512 mb (and preferably GDDR3), and DX10, must be there, though.
RAM: More than 3.5GB, I'm told, doesn't work on Vista 32 bit, for some reason, so I think I'll get a couple of 2GB sticks of DDR2 800, that should be fine. 8GB is a nice thougth, but would be a waste. It seems expensive enoughas it is.
Case: + PSU: I'm stuck on these. I'm not really sure what is needed in terms of power and cooling, so I thought I would ask the experts.

Stuff I already have:
Sound Card: I already own a rather nice Creative Fatality Blaster (whatever it's called), so that should be fine for my composing.