[SOLVED] First time trying to swap out Motherboard.

dahypersqurl96

Commendable
Aug 15, 2018
(This post also got posted from my other account that I am trying to have deleted for reasons. Just in case you see a double.)

I have an Acer Aspire e5-573g-52g3, I went ahead and threw better ram and an SSD in it to improve performance (first time having an SSD, I will never go back!). It has the I5 processor on the Motherboard with the GeForce graphics card (I assume it is on the motherboard, I do not know. I'm new to messing with hardware).

An almost identical model of this laptop is the Acer Aspire E5-575-79EP, which has an I7 in it, (however it is only 2.50 gh). So what I am wondering is if I want to upgrade the processor I know I cant just pull it and swap it, so would swapping the Motherboard be a good option? Is there a way to know if a motherboard from that laptop will work? I have seen the Motherboard of the I7 for relatively cheap on Ebay. I know since this isn't a built laptop I am limited, but what are my other options for getting a more speedy processor?

Side Quest:
Does anyone know if it is possible to upgrade the GeForce to a higher rated gpu in this machine?

Solution

IF it actually fits, you're almost certainly looking at a whole wipe and reinstall.
A new motherboard is not just plug and play, regarding the OS.

Looks like it should work. But you won't know until you try it. That's a lot of money and time wasted.

I'll put it to you this way, Acer is really not a great laptop, the cheaper line anyway. In that sense I don't see much reason to keep investing in it.
Second thing, let's break it down. i7 sounds great, but is it?
The logic board that you're talking about features a 2 core + 2 hyperthread cpu @2.5ghz => boost 3.1ghz
Your current logic board has an i5 with 2cores (no HT) @2.2ghz => boost 2.7ghz.