Freaking out newbie

tjc50

Honorable
Apr 18, 2012
Recently built new gaming rig. Everything went smooth its doing great. Problem is im new at all of this, I installed windows 7 and all drivers for gpu, keyboard, mouse, etc. I would like to partition my 1tb HDD it is my only hdd currently. I also do not know the proper steps to do this. I would also like to back up all of my up to date items previously described. What is the best plan of action here? I already posted this in the hdd section but I need to get this resolved asap. BF3 is waiting on me lol. Thanks!

Solution
As I said, you should not partition for data management. It'll only get in your way. You won't get any kind of benefit out of it. Use folders instead. Windows is designed to work on one partition.
A section for backup could only be useful for virus problems. That might be a legitimate use, but it won't insure you against physical problems, which I think are more common among people who don't click stupid links and use antivirus software. You should get a separate drive for backup.

tjc50

Honorable
Apr 18, 2012
watched his vid but he never broke down to my question. But as I take it you dont necessarily need to partition but I would like atleast 2-3 sections basically. Also when I built this pc, which i was done at 6 am this morning, ugh. But I never went into a bios from the get go. Just inserted windows 7 cd and took off.

tjc50

Honorable
Apr 18, 2012
Holy *** easy, found a video. Now my next question is when I partition a seperate drive for windows 7 and my newly updated drivers. Can i simply copy them to that new small section I set aside for and have my pc boot from that info? Thanks for your time

tjc50

Honorable
Apr 18, 2012