Free Beer for Memory experts...come on in!

chrisojeda

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I have an MSI K7-Master motherboard. I wanted to know how to set the memory settings. I am a newbie to the BIOS so I will tell you what I think I am supposed to do and you can let me know where I screwed up. Or maybe I have it figured out.

Under the menu "Advanced Chipset Features" I found the following seven entries which I think are the memory settings that the hardware review sites are always talking about when they post there memory settings used in a review. Here is what these settings are (in the same order as seen in the BIOS menu):

xSDRAM PH Limit 8 Cycle
xSDRAM Idle Limit 8 Cycle
xSDRAM Trc Timing Value 8 Cycle
xSDRAM Trp Timing Value 3 Cycle
xSDRAM Tras Timing Value 7 Cycle
xSDRAM CAS Latency 2 Cycle
xSDRAM Tred Timing Value 3 Cycle

In one of THG's articles, http://www4.tomshardware.com/howto/01q1/010219/powerbox-04.html ...they state the following in the memory section "The Power Box is equipped with two 128 MB DIMMs of the above-mentioned memory, summing up to 256 MB in total. The memory timing settings in the BIOS of MSI's K7 Master S were 8-8-4-2-2-2-2"

So are the BIOS settings that I listed above the ones that this THG's article is giving values for? When I see a big string of values ("8-8-4-2-2-2-2") I wonder how does someone like me know which BIOS memory option each value applies to. Do the BIOS options always go in the same order on other motherboards as they do in mine? I am aware that generally you lower the settings and check for stability, and then repeat until you can get to the lowest settings. Does it hurt to try it in the lowest settings from the get go. Can the RAM get damaged? Your help is appreciated...Chris

It worked yesterday! :lol:

G