Front panel connected help

ButteryToastHD

Prominent
Jun 27, 2017
Hi everyone I'm new to pc building. I have an msi b350m gaming pro motherboard and can't completely figure out which way the headers go. The manual is confusing me. Any help would be appreciated!

Solution
No, don't move the HDD LED up (that's for the POWER LED pins you don't have). Use the same pins as before, but make sure the + (gray wire) is at the left and the - (black wire) is at the right.

In short, in your latest photo, you connected the HDD LED here:

[o][o][o][o][x]
[o][o][o][o][o]
^- which is wrong.

You should move it down and connect it here:

[o][o][o][o][x]
[o][o][o][o][o]
Gray Wire (+) at the left; Black Wire (-) at the right

Zmanrocks

Reputable
Jul 31, 2016
Im really bad at explaining stuff like this but I will try my best! I recently rebuild my PC because I got a new case. There should be 3 plugs with 2 insert holes each. and 1 that is 2 insert holes but are both split all of these have a place of there own In these slots: (PLED, HD, PWR, and RES) I cant tell you exactly where they all go but the wires should be obviously marked. Also usb plugs go into the usb plug slot and usb 3 has its own special plug

Depending on what your case is, you should have the following basic front panel cables coming out of it:
41-big-corsair-obsidian-750d.jpg

For reference, here is your motherboard:
B350M-GAMING-PRO.jpg

The first 5 small cables in the photo above, i.e., the "RESET SW" (2-pin), the "POWER LED-" (1-pin), the "POWER LED+" (1-pin), the "POWER SW" (2-pin), and the "H.D.D. LED" (2-pin), will all be connected to your motherboards Front Panel Header (a 9-pin header), which is lablled as "JFP1", found near the bottom-right corner of your motherboard (just beneath the screw mounting hole).

The "JFP1" header, with 9 total pins, is laid out like this:

[o][o][o][o][x]
[o][o][o][o][o]
*where [x] means no pin

You would then plug those 5 small cables this way: