Yode

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2001
Hi everyone,
Can anyone tell me FSB stands for and what it does?
This would be greatly apprieciated
Thanks
Yode

G

I'm no expert (just look at the several posts I've made), but I do know that FSB stands for Front-side bus. It's a system bus between the CPU and the RAM and maybe other things too, I don't know.

G

Hey,great stuff Utopia. This is exactly what us newbies, strangers need! We need some detailed correspondence now and then. Its easy for you guys, but for us that sit back and try and work it out we thank you.lol

~OMG IT nearly melted, lucky I had the extra fan *inside* ~

FatBurger

Illustrious
Ok, you ready for this?

Basically, the motherboard operates at a specific frequency, and adjusts the electrical signals accordingly. This is where the Front Side Bus comes from. Now, on a modern motherboard (currently being made), this is either 100 or 133, only exception being Macs.

The ISA bus is designed to run at 15MHz, I believe. I'm not totally sure about that one. The PCI bus is 33MHz, and the AGP bus is 66MHz. That's assuming you haven't overclocked the busses. More on that later.

Now, with the system bus at 100 or 133, that is how fast the CPU interfaces with the motherboard, as well as the RAM interfacing with the MB. That's where the PC100/PC133/etc. comes from. It's what the RAM is guaranteed to run at. RAM can be under or overclocked to run at different system speeds, but not all RAM is good at overclocking. My generic RAM won't run even 2 MHz above that, although most name brand RAM will run a fair amount above it.

Now, you've been wondering about 200/266/400 bus speeds on Tbirds and P4s, I'm sure. That is basically double- and quad-pumped. What that means is for every clock cycle (100 or 133 million times a second/MHz), it executes twice or four times. Therefore, it's not a TRUE 200/266/400 bus, but it acts effectively the same (in theory, since there are no true 200/266/400 busses out there).