Build Advice Fulfilling an age-old dream. New build, custom loop.

Leicester77

Prominent
Oct 13, 2019
Hello fellow enthusiasts!

As promised in an earlier post, I'll start my build log here.

Skip the following paragraph if my background, usage and motivation don't interest you.

Since the age of 14 or so I am interested in PCs, hard- and software, networking and generally IT.
I've always had the dream to build a sick looking, silent, powerful custom loop cooled PC, but eighter budget or time (or earlier my parents consent) wasn't there.
Now, 12 years later, I have finished all of my education and I'm finally earning enough to fulfill this dream and I am stoked about this.
I am an electronics engineer by profession, I do some music recording/production as a hobby (not so much lately), I do a bit of coding (right now I'm investigating machine learning, just out of interest, not professionally) and I enjoy some gaming now and then when time allows it.
So as you see, many of my interests demand an at least decent PC. All the while I off course enjoy silence in my home office.

TLDR:
What: 2D/3D-CAD, software, machine learning, music production, gaming, silence, looks!
Why: Because I want to and also finally can.

Initially, I've decided to keep my old case (bequiet! Pure Base 500) but since I've investigated further into water cooling I've chosen to ditch this case and go for the Lian-Li O11d XL... I know, you've all probably seen enough of this case, but it is truel a solid choice and I dig the looks of it. Also, the hot-swap bays are something I was looking for.
My plan is to build a solid air-cooled system first, make sure everything is stable, then watercool it.

Since I've already started the project, this is my current progress:
  • Lian-Li O11d XL with the EK front distro plate (I wanted the distro to be installed from the beginning to make stuff easier)
  • Asus ROG Strix X570-E (man it sucks that the chipset-fan can't be controlled...)