G-Sync or Not

thenightfury

Prominent
Jan 13, 2018
Hi guys it's my first time building a PC , so I don't know much and I would really appreciation your input .My issue is
I am thinking of getting a gtx 1080 with a 4k 60hz FreeSync monitor,
I was going to play at 1440p for 60hz fps but I recently read about the I'll effects of not having Freesync so I was asking if I were to play on this monitor at 1440p would I encounter screen tear?

Solution

Those are two different technologies. Freesync is AMD based so that 4K freesync monitor won't be compatible with your 1080. It will work with the 1080 but the sync technology won't. You need a G-Sync monitor.

The G-sync monitor would be helpful in your situation.

thenightfury

Prominent
Jan 13, 2018

Thanks i know that freesync wont work with the nvidia i live in India so i don't really have a lot of options, so i wanted to ask would the screen tear be noticeable.

At times it will be. It depends on the game. You can also visit the Nvidia Control Panel from your desktop and click on 3D Settings. Scroll down until you see Vertical Sync. You aren't limited to Vertical Sync on and off. There is also Adaptive Sync which can help with screen tearing better than the simple v-sync on.

thenightfury

Prominent
Jan 13, 2018

Thanks for that link, would it work in my situation or should I switch to 4k and if the gtx 1080 wouldn't work on 4k even with high settings should I buy a gtx 1080 ti would the screen tear be reduced then ?

Freesync is AMD's own style of variable frame rate syncing. Pretty much similar to Nvidia's Gsync technology.

If your just running a capped 60HZ then you don't really need variable frame syncing tech, it is for systems that can push a 120/144hz monitor to its max and keep it round about there but the tech stops the variable frames from causing tearing if the frames dip or fluctuate.