Status
Not open for further replies.

zonation

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
Hello everyone. I'm sure you've heard this a thousand times before, but I am looking to get a laptop as a desktop replacement. I have extensive experience with desktops and have built systems from scratch before but I'm fairly new to the world of notebooks. I was hoping some of you out there might be able to to steer me in the right direction? I'll start with this "FAQ" that was so graciously provided by a member on here.....

1. What is your budget?

Preferably no more than $1,500

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

15.6"-17+"

3. What screen resolution do you want?

Any, but 1900x1280 if possible

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

Desktop replacement

5. How much battery life do you need?

At least 4 hours? (Don't know if this is asking for too much or what the 'norm' is)

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

Deus Ex: Human Revolution
Fallout series
Rage
F.E.A.R. series
Left 4 Dead 2
Team Fortress 2
I basically want to be able to play any game released within the next 3+ years that's thrown at me with no problems.
Preferably I would like to be able to play on "High" settings, but as long as it runs smoothly and looks halfway decent I'd be happy. I figure if I can still play some modern games on my 5 year-old system now, then I'd like my new system to last me as well.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

Possibly video/audio editing, word processing, etc.. Gaming would be the most resource-intensive thing I'd be doing on it for long periods of time, though

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?

As much as possible. looking at 1.75TB (I'll get to this later)

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.