NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014
So i've been gaming on a PC with these specs for over 4 years now:
- Intel Core i7-4820k
- Asus P9X79
- G.Skill 16GB Ram DDR3
- MSI GeForce GTX 970

And I wanted to start upgrading to some better hardware like a gen 8 i7 or i5 (Not sure which one is recommended for my wants/needs), and maybe a 1070/1080.
So I wanted to aks you guys which new components can I get to have my PC on date with great specs. The activities I want to perform on this PC are obviously gaming, with games like Fortnite, GTA V, Witcher 3, Destiny 2, and upcoming games that may require power. But also a everyday use PC and, Im studying Architecture, so a Pc that may handle programs with 3D modelling. These are all my needs, so I wanted some help with pieces that are on a good price for their quality, and also maybe some RGB MoBo, that kind of stuff. Thanks!

Solution
I'm not really the one for selling parts advice, TBH nearly all my older parts or builds have gone to family or friends for next to nothing to help them out.

Getting back to a new build the 8700K is a great choice, you will want a higher end air cooler even if your not going to overclock as of now because it runs warm. The Gigabyte Aorus 7 is a excellent motherboard however I think the Aorus 5 would be a better choice as it'll still have all the high end features (excellent overclocking/multiple M.2 slots/RGB controls) for much less.

Review: https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gigabyte-z370-aorus-gaming-5-atx-motherboard,5569.html

Build Idea:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel -...

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014

1. I know, really doesn't matter, I can try to resell previous pieces to get some money back.
2. Im tilting towards 1440p or 2k maybe, and If i get the money 4k.
3. Don't really know, I don't want to pay humongous amounts of money, although I know it won't be cheap, so whatever is considered "Cheap" for the specs I want is fine.

1. 1440p is 2k