Gaming system from scratch

argiris.fetsis

Prominent
Jan 10, 2018
Hello there my friends,

First things first, have an awesome new year!

With that out of the way, as the title suggests I'm planning to build a new PC, mainly for gaming, in the upcoming days/weeks.

Since as always there's a lot of discussion to be made about the components, I've reached pretty much a dead-end in my searches. I have some knowledge concerning PC's but nothing extensive so that may explain it.

Anyway, here goes. I've decided on a CPU and GPU already.

CPU: Intel Core i5-8400
GPU: Gainward GeForce GTX1080 8GB Phoenix

To be honest, I'm kind of bent on them but if you think I'm dead wrong for choosing them, please elaborate, advice is always welcome.

I'd like some opinions on the rest of the system though since I have no idea of the requirements needed to support those 2 parts and how to get the best out of them.

Budget is 1000-1100 euros including the above parts, withing that range. No monitor needed currently. I'm planning to overclock the CPU.

Resolution is 1080p although I'm planning to upgrade to 4k in the coming months, hence the GeForce 1080.

Upgrading because my current system is getting pretty obsolete, it's close to 5 years old now. The world has moved on since then.

That's pretty much it, I'd love to hear your opinions.

Have a good one!

Solution
You are dead right about those two components... http://www.pcgamer.com/intel-i5-8400-review-the-best-new-gaming-cpu-in-years/ but the GPU brand or variant doesnt matter much. They all perform around the same region.
With that out of the way, this is how your ideal setup should play out eventually...

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel - Core i5-8400 2.8GHz 6-Core Processor (€224.90 @ Caseking)
Motherboard: MSI - Z370-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard (€103.24 @ Amazon Deutschland)
Memory: G.Skill - Trident Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory (€152.74 @ Amazon Deutschland)