GeForce 8800 GTX graphics card troubles

mandomank

Distinguished
May 21, 2014
Hi, my first post, so bear with me. I have an Asus P5KPL-CM motherboard, with two 3.2 GHZ processors, and 3.9 GBs of RAM.
I had this system built for some games I wanted to play that were too fast for my other desktop. It ran really well with the GeForce 8800 GTX for a while, but then the system crashed. I don't know exactly why. However, when I reloaded, and tried to set the card back up with the latest drivers, it would no longer perform, causing wobbly yellowish lines across the screen. I'm running Win. XP Home 32 Bit. Finally the question.
I have no experience with these video cards, other than this GeForce card. How can I tell for sure if the card is still good? Also, what are some other video cards that would work well with this system? Thanks, I appreciate the help.

Solution

FINALLY, I got back on the forum. I'm sorry for the delay, but I've been trying to log in and answer these replies for the last two days, with no success until now.

The internal seems to be working okay with simple stuff, but I have been noticing that it struggles with things like shaders, and other effects in much more simple games than I originally bought it to play. I've got the newest Intel drivers/updates, as well as the newest BIOS update. Could something have happened to the MB when it crashed in the middle of "Star Wars: The Force Unleashed"? I didn't think that game was that big of a deal, but it...

scout_03

Titan
Ambassador
try to use the onboard ans see if you have good video on the monitor dont forget to remove the geforce 8800 from the system for this test if you could test that geforce 8800 in another computer and for another gpu we will need to know your psu name and model .

mandomank

Distinguished
May 21, 2014