Gettin super Low speeds at USB 3.0 (27 MBps max)!!

gam0reily

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2011
Hello,

Sorry if it isn't the right forum.

But I am having trouble transferring my files via USB 3.0 from my External drive, a seagate GoFlex 500GB to my laptop, an HP Pavilion g6-2005AX.

I am new to USB 3.0, since I got this lappy today itself. So, I did a normal copy-paste to my laptop's hard disk, and the speeds were dismal.

I am averaging out at 22 MBps, with the max going upto 27MBps only!!

please help! What is that have I missed? ANy driver? I am at a dead end ryt now.

Thx in advance

Xenturion

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2011
Sounds like someone is getting USB 2.0 speeds. Is the external hard drive actually USB 3.0 capable? If so, are you going from the Blue USB port on the Hard Drive to a Blue USB port on your laptop?

gam0reily

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2011
yeah, its usb 3 compatible, the hdd. and I have connected it to the usb 3 port as it says on my laptop. Although I to found it odd not to have a blue port which is generally for a usb 3 port.

djscribbles

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012
Frankly the speeds don't seem that unreasonable for a low RPM hard drive do they? It may be limited by the drive itself rather than USB; HDD makers have, in the past, always been shameless about touting their 'new' interface speed when the innards of the drive are not capable of getting near the bandwidth limitations of the 'old' interface.

SATA3 (6Gb/s) HDDs for example, one doesn't need a Sata3 interface for an HDD, even though (I'm fairly sure) Sata1 has more bandwidth than most can use in real world applications.

No, it doesn't have to be blue. Although most of them are blue but I have seen a few in other colour and have the USB 3.0 SS logo on it.

Check write cache is turned on and USB controller mode is on xHCI in bios.

Hi :)

As far as I know, the international standard for USB says..not blue = not usb3 (to paraphrase)

Every motherboard we have used has blue...

All the best Brett )