Question Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 AIC Adaptor

johnno23

Reputable
Aug 7, 2017
I was considering to buy one of these items as I have an Aourus X570 Master and no longer use any mechanical Hard drives.
I know I can use the slot closest to the CPU as it is a x 16 and can be turned into 4 x 4 so thats ok.
BUT...always the buts. My concerns are the following.
I am using an MSI RTX 3080 which I can move to another slot and understand PCI 4 x8 is fine as it will run the GPU same as a PCI 3 x16.
However the the manual reads that if a card is in the 2nd PCI slot the 1st Slot drops to x8 which means very expensive add on for 4 ssd's if I can only use 2 of them.
So I was wondering is there is a possible work around so I could use the GPU and the Gigabyte Aorus gen4 aic adaptor fully populated with 4 x 2TB SSD's
Or am I barking up the wrong tree as my Aorus Master Motherboard is not as masterful as I had hoped.
Final query was if I were to purchase the adapter all the info only I found online relates to how fast and raid 0 but I was thinking to use a Raid 5 or simply use as JBOD ? That info I have been unable to confirm.

johnno23

Reputable
Aug 7, 2017
I have at present 4 x 1TB in my PC and 3 of them are at 80% capacity. the Only Drive under 50% is my C drive so I need more space and have no intention of dumping the 4 x 1TB and just going larger.
As for Raid not a big issue and as a Bunch of individual drives that can be accessed that s fine. The Adpater choice is simplicity. Inside the PC not need for even more cable clutter or powerbricks etc.
The webs however only talk of the adapter its speed raid 0 and the links to buy it...hence my question. Even Gigabyte Website do not bother to inform me that it can see and use 4 drives as separate units of storage.
The main issue though is my concern that the motherboard will not allow me to run the GPU and The adapter ?