Question Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB in an OptiPlex 9020 SFF?

Jun 6, 2019
Hello all. I am looking to game on a somewhat considerable budget (for me anyway) and was wondering if a full-size Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB would fit in the OptiPlex 9020 SFF case and work with an upgraded PSU (currently looking at an EVGA 430W PSU and will use an adapter to connect it as dell used proprietary connectors). The motherboard has a single PCIe 3.0 x16 slot and a PCIe 2.0 x4 (I think?) slot. Will destroying the hard drive caddy help fit the GPU if necessary? I’d rather not downgrade to a low profile 1050 unless absolutely necessary.

Specs after preferred upgrade:
Intel core i5-4570 (same as before)
8GB DDR3 RAM 1600MHz (extra 4GB)
Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 (coming from Intel HD 4600)
EVGA 430W PSU (coming from original 240W PSU)

Please comment if any extra information is necessary.

I am new to the building/upgrading gaming PC scene so sorry if there are any obvious things I have missed.

The 1060 I am wishing to buy: https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.com.au/ulk/itm/223524779664

I can’t currently look at anything inside the PC for another 5 days or so because it actually won’t arrive until Wednesday.

Thanks everyone.

DMAN999

Dignified
Ambassador
Once you have the Dell OptiPlex case in your possession.
I suggest you open it up and physically measure the available space from the PCI-E 16 slot in both directions, from back of case towards front and from MB to case side panel.
Then check those measurements with the length and width of the 1060 GPU you want to buy.

Last edited:

DSzymborski

Curmudgeon Pursuivant
Unfortunately, this model lists the slot as half-height. Small form factor prebuilts are generally strongly not recommended for trying to upgrade into a gaming rig.

Not particularly crazy about that price. If you were able to use a full-size GPU, there's no reason for you to buy a used 1060 3 GB when a RX 570 can be found new the same price.

Jun 6, 2019