Gnat Miser and other Hand Reduction cards

fox

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2004
28
0
18,530
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

If you have multiple gnat misers in play (or other hand reduction cards), are the effects cumulative?

E.g. If you have 2 gnat misers would the opponents max hand size be reduced from 7 to 5, or from 7 to 6?


Thanks in advance,

Facegriller.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

<fox@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:42a510f3$0$28106$c3e8da3@news.astraweb.com...
> If you have multiple gnat misers in play (or other hand reduction cards),
> are the effects cumulative?
>
> E.g. If you have 2 gnat misers would the opponents max hand size be
> reduced from 7 to 5, or from 7 to 6?

The Gnat and Locust Misers both reduce maximum hand size by a given number,
Gnats by 1 and Locusts by 2. Since each one is performing a reduction, you
would add them together. So, two Gnats mean your opponent's maximum hand
size is reduced to 5. There are few cards that restrict hand size to a fixed
number - Recycle and Cursed Rack come to mind; most will take whatever hand
size is available and drop it down another notch. So with 3 Gnats and 2
Locusts in play, your opponent (generally) can't have any cards in hand by
the end of his or her turn. :)

Erich
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 07 Jun 2005 03:13:56 GMT, fox@yahoo.com <fox@yahoo.com> wrote:
>If you have multiple gnat misers in play (or other hand reduction cards), are
>the effects cumulative?

Depends. Are they saying "your maximum hand size is reduced by N"? Those are
cumulative with each other, yes.

Are they saying "your maximum hand size _is_ N"? Those are setting the size,
not reducing it, and you need to use timestamp to see what the end handsize is.

>E.g. If you have 2 gnat misers would the opponents max hand size be reduced
>from 7 to 5, or from 7 to 6?

From 7 to 5, since their maximum hand size is being reduced by 1 twice, and
1 + 1 = 2.

If you also had a Cursed Rack out, you would have to remember which came out
first, which second, and which third. Rack first -> the chosen opponent's
max hand size is 2 (->4 -1 -1); Rack third -> the chosen opponent's max hand
size is 4 (-1 -1 ->4). Etc.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Tue, 7 Jun 2005, fox@yahoo.com wrote:

> If you have multiple gnat misers in play (or other hand reduction
> cards), are the effects cumulative?
>
> E.g. If you have 2 gnat misers would the opponents max hand size be
> reduced from 7 to 5, or from 7 to 6?

Yes, it's cumulative. Just like 2 -1/-1 counters give -2/-2.

--
David
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

David DeLaney wrote:
> On 07 Jun 2005 03:13:56 GMT, fox@yahoo.com <fox@yahoo.com> wrote:
> >If you have multiple gnat misers in play (or other hand reduction cards), are
> >the effects cumulative?
>
> Depends. Are they saying "your maximum hand size is reduced by N"? Those are
> cumulative with each other, yes.
>
> Are they saying "your maximum hand size _is_ N"? Those are setting the size,
> not reducing it, and you need to use timestamp to see what the end handsize is.
>
> >E.g. If you have 2 gnat misers would the opponents max hand size be reduced
> >from 7 to 5, or from 7 to 6?
>
> From 7 to 5, since their maximum hand size is being reduced by 1 twice, and
> 1 + 1 = 2.
>
> If you also had a Cursed Rack out, you would have to remember which came out
> first, which second, and which third. Rack first -> the chosen opponent's
> max hand size is 2 (->4 -1 -1); Rack third -> the chosen opponent's max hand
> size is 4 (-1 -1 ->4). Etc.
>

So if your opponent had a Library of Leng in play, the misers'
abilities would have no effect?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

<dancle16@yahoo.com> wrote:

> So if your opponent had a Library of Leng in play, the misers'
> abilities would have no effect?

Right. It would be like a Karma when you have no Swamps.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 7 Jun 2005 12:36:23 -0700, dancle16@yahoo.com <dancle16@yahoo.com> wrote:
>David DeLaney wrote:
>> If you also had a Cursed Rack out, you would have to remember which came out
>> first, which second, and which third. Rack first -> the chosen opponent's
>> max hand size is 2 (->4 -1 -1); Rack third -> the chosen opponent's max hand
>> size is 4 (-1 -1 ->4). Etc.
>
>So if your opponent had a Library of Leng in play, the misers'
>abilities would have no effect?

Right. In either order, "you have no maximum hand size" plus "your maximum
hand size is one less" is still "you have no maximum hand size".

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.